2020 Highlights

Home / Uncategorized / 2020 Highlights

2020 Grand Jury Award Winners & Nominees:

Note: OIFF 2020’s Grand Jury was Comprised of Multiple Industry Professionals Who are in no way affiliated with the Oceanside Intl. Film Festival Staff, Board or Organizational Committee. All Jury Members Vote Anonymously and Privately, without knowledge of their peers identities and without prior or post discussion or interaction to ensure a completely non-bias voter outcome for all OIFF 2020 award winners.

Best Art Design (Short or Feature)
Jessee Clarkson – Alina
Nicole Eure – Inoculation
Elsa Mickelson – Leave ‘Em Laughing (Winner)
Natasha Mudi – The Cancer Monster
Dante Iannetta – I’m on Fire

Best Original Score/Music (Short or Feature)
Marco D’Ambrosio – Eat The Rainbow (Winner)
Shaul Bustan – Toprak
Timothy Jackson – First Chances
Georgly Ahimoroda – Sockeye Salmon. Red Fish
Kinny Landrum – Love is not Love

Best Editing in a Short
Rami Kodeih – Alina (Winner)
Shayna Connelly – Bananas Girl
Tony Gentile – Collectors Vol. 1
T.F. Kenney – The End
Dave Phelps, Ryan Espinosa, Jeff Taylor & Ben Weiland – Unnur

Best Editing in a Feature
Vladislav Grishin – Sockeye Salmon. Red Fish (Winner)
Karen Glienke – Love is not Love
Isolated in Stromboli
Goncalo Caldeira – Legacy: Surfing Then & Now

Best Screenplay (Short or Feature)
Alexander Dean Williams, Shawn Parikh and Nellie Christine for American Hate
Nora Marianna – Alina (Winner)
Brian Benson – H.P. Mendoza – Eat The Rainbow
Chris Cashman & Christopher Lusti – Leave ‘Em Laughing
Sevgi Hirschhauser – Toprak

Best Cinematography in a Short
Jeff Taylor – Unnur (Winner)
Matt Plaxco – Alina
Tony Gentile – Collectors, Vol 1
Bryan Ricke – American Hate

Best Cinematography in a Feature
Dmitriy Shpilenok, Nicolay Shpilenok – Sockeye Salmon. Red Fish
Sevgi Hirschhauser – Toprak
Luca Noris – Isolated in Stromboli
Tiago Dias – Legacy: Surfing Then & Now
Steven Fadellin – Love is Not Love (Winner)

Best Supporting Actress
Whitney Bensfield – “Zoe” in Midnight (Winner)
Lady Bear – “Vonda” in Eat The Rainbow
April Kidwell – “Lobelia” in Eat The Rainbow
Rebeca Robles – “Nelly” in Alina
Tatum Langton – “Becky” in American Hate

Best Supporting Actor
Matthew Glave – “Dick Shawn” in Leave ‘Em Laughing
William McCullough – “Captain Drauz” in Alina
Martin Kove – “Jerry” in The Roommates (Winner)
Lady Bear – “Vonda” in Eat The Rainbow
Shawn Parikh – “Shrini” in American Hate

Best Actress in a Lead Role
Alia Shawkat – “Alina” in Alina (Winner)
Shradda Divri – “Sunny” in American Hate
Charlie Krapf  -“Charlie” in The Power Agent
Kiko Wilson – “Kyoko” in Aida
Alejandra Gollas – “Reyna/Emilia” in Love is Not Love

Best Actor in a Lead Role
Joseph Lloyd Lopez  – “Randy” in American Hate
Numan Cakir – “Cemil” in Toprak (Winner)
Burak Aydin – “Burak” in Toprak
Barry Bostwick – “Henry” in The Roommates
Bruce Davidson – “Arthur” in The Roommates

Best Direction in a Short
Chris Cashman – Leave ‘Em Laughing
Brian Benson – Eat The Rainbow
Rami Kodeih – Alina (Winner)
Christopher W. Graham – Aida
Daniel Brea – American Hate

Best Direction in a Feature
Sevgi Hirschhäuser – Toprak
Luca Noris – Isolated In Stromboli
Dmitriy Shpilenok , Vladislav Grishin – Sockeye Salmon. Red Fish
Stephen Keep Mills – Love is Not Love (Winner)

Best Student Film (Short or Feature)
Dirty Business (Winner)
I’m on Fire
Just Go Fucking Surfing

Best Animation (Short or Feature)
Acaiaca (Winner)
The End
Fire Underground

Best Short Documentary
Unnur (Winner)
Collector’s Vol 1
The World is a Skatepark: Photographer J. Grant Brittain
Bananas Girl

Best Feature Documentary
Sockeye Salmon. Red Fish (Winner)
Isolated in Stromboli
The Lure of this Land
Legacy: Surfing Now and Then

Best Narrative Short
Alina (Winner)
American Hate
Eat The Rainbow
The Roommates

Best Narrative Feature
Love is not Love
Toprak (Winner)

Best Picture of OIFF 2020 (Short or Feature)
American Hate
Eat The Rainbow
Isolated In Stromboli
Sockeye Salmon. Red Fish (Winner)


Special Jury Prizes:

Emerging Filmmaker Fund – $500: Yutao Chen (Director of “Dirty Business”, Little Rock, AK)


Emerging Filmmaker Fund – $500: Cameron Penn (Director of “The Roommates”, Carlsbad, CA/New York, NY)


OIFF 2020 was not just the Festival’s Tenth Annual Event, but its First Virtual Edition. In Addition to 45 Films, the Festival Included its First Virtual Awards Ceremony. The Festival Committee Thank All for Tuning into the Ceremony’s Premiere, Held on Eventive.org – and Now will Remain Available on OIFF’s YouTube Channel.

See You At The Movies!
Related Posts